Erasmus grants

Erasmus

The Erasmus Programme is funded by the European Union. Through the Programme, higher education students can spend from 3 to 12 months at another European university and gain credits towards their diploma from their original university.   

Studying abroad requires some organisation and paperwork before leaving, but once you arrive, you can expect to meet a lot of new people, discover new places and do a lot of partying! The experience is sure to change your life... and your CV!  

As part of the Programme, you will be able to

  • attend a foreign university that has partnered with your home university
  • obtain recognition for credits earned abroad
  • obtain a grant to fund your stay. The grant can be combined with one from the CEDIES. The amount varies from country to country and is set by national agencies.
  • and above all, get to know a new country and its customs. An opportunity you can't afford to miss!

Formalities to complete before leaving

Check:

  1. the application deadline
  2. the list of universities partnered with your university, the courses on offer and the number of places available
  3. which term you can enrol for
  4. the level of language proficiency required for the programme you are interested in
  5. the medical coverage requirements in the host country (generally, a European Health Insurance Card will suffice)

How to obtain a scholarship

Contact the office in charge of the Erasmus Programme at your university at the beginning of the academic year. Applicants are selected on the basis of their academic record and their level of proficiency in the language of the host country. You may be required to take a test. 

Erasmus +

This new programme is no longer open only to students. It is now open to lecturers, apprentices, volunteers and athletes, with one goal: to promote mobility throughout Europe: Erasmus (students), Comenius (schoolchildren), Grundtvig (adults) and Leonardo da Vinci (apprentices).

 

Swiss-European Mobility Programme

Switzerland dropped out of the Erasmus Programme in 2014. However, there is a similar programme – known as the SEMP (Swiss-European Mobility Programme) – through which you can attend one of the universities in Switzerland: your stay is subject to the same conditions as those for the Erasmus Programme, and tuition is free.

Contact your institution's international relations department to find out whether your establishment is a partner in the Swiss exchange programme.

Last update

Erasmus-Stipendien

Erasmus

Das Erasmus-Programm wird durch die Europäische Union finanziert. Im Rahmen des Erasmus-Programms können alle für Hochschulstudien eingeschriebenen Studierenden 3 bis 12 Monate an einer anderen europäischen Universität studieren und ihre Studienleistungen von ihrer Heimatuniversität anrechnen lassen.   

Wenn Sie im Ausland studieren möchten, müssen Sie im Vorfeld Einiges organisieren und allerhand Formalitäten erledigen. Sind sie aber einmal vor Ort, so haben Sie Gelegenheit, neue Bekanntschaften zu schließen, Interessantes zu entdecken und natürlich auch zu feiern. Stellen Sie sich darauf ein, dass diese Erfahrung Ihr Leben und Ihren Werdegang ganz bestimmt verändern wird!  

Das Programm eröffnet Ihnen folgende Möglichkeiten:

  • Durchführung eines Austauschs an einer ausländischen Partnerhochschule der Hochschule, an der Sie eingeschrieben sind;
  • Anerkennung der im Ausland erworbenen ECTS;
  • Stipendium zur Finanzierung Ihres Aufenthalts. Dieses Stipendium ist mit Cedies-Stipendien kumulierbar! Die Höhe der Förderung ist von Land zu Land unterschiedlich. Sie wird von den nationalen Behörden festgelegt.
  • Und vor allem: Entdeckung eines anderen Lands und anderer Sitten. Eine Gelegenheit, die man sich nicht entgehen lassen sollte!

Vor der Abreise zu erledigen:

Folgende Informationen müssen Sie klären:

  1. die Einreichungsfrist für die Antragsunterlagen;
  2. die Liste der Partnerhochschulen Ihrer Hochschule, die betroffenen Studiengänge und die Anzahl der Studierenden, die gefördert werden können;
  3. in welchem Semester Sie aufbrechen können;
  4. welches Sprachniveau für das Programm erforderlich ist, das Sie interessiert;
  5. welche Krankenversicherung im Gastland vorgeschrieben ist (in der Regel reicht die Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte).

Bewerbungsverfahren

Kontaktieren Sie zu Jahresbeginn das zuständige Erasmus-Büro Ihrer Hochschule. Es erfolgt eine Auswahl nach Studienleistung und Sprachniveau – Überprüfungstest! 

Erasmus +

Dieses neue Programm richtet sich nicht nur an Studierende. Es gilt auch für Dozenten, Lehrlinge, Volontäre und Sportler, und hat ein einziges Ziel – die Mobilität in Europa zu fördern: Erasmus (Studierende), Comenius (Schüler), Grundtvig (Erwachsene) und Leonardo da Vinci (Lehrlinge).

 

Swiss-European Mobility Programme

Die Schweiz nimmt seit 2014 nicht mehr am Erasmus-Programm teil! Es gibt jedoch ein Parallelprogramm, das SEMP (Swiss-European Mobility Programme), über das Sie einen Aufenthalt an einer der Universitäten in der Schweiz durchführen können: Dieser ist an dieselben Voraussetzungen gebunden wie im Rahmen des Erasmus-Austauschprogramms, und Sie müssen keine Studiengebühren bezahlen.

Informieren Sie sich bei der Dienststelle für internationale Beziehungen Ihrer Universität oder Schule, ob Ihre Hochschule Partner des Schweizer Austauschprogramms ist.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am